Modern Music from 1825

Listen to the entire program:

Show open - Lisa Simeone

Introduction - Geoff Nuttall

Ludwig van Beethoven: Grosse Fuge, Op. 133
St. Lawrence String Quartet
Geoff Nuttall, Scott St. John, violins; Lesley Robertson, viola; Christopher Costanza, cello

Introduction - Lisa Simeone

Introduction - Geoff Nuttall

Anton Arensky: String Quartet
Daniel Phillips, violin; Hsin-Yun Huang, viola; Alisa Weilerstein, Christopher Costanza, cellos

Close of show - Lisa Simeone


It's the avant-garde from 1825 - the St. Lawrence String Quartet plays Beethoven's sprawling Grosse Fuge, which began its life as a final movement to one of his late quartets; plus Anton Arensky's quartet with 2 cellos.